Your Councillors

There are 36 councillors directing the work of the Council, elected by the voters of South Oxfordshire. Our elections are held every four years.

The Conservative group currently holds the majority of seats on the council. There are currently 25 Conservative councillors, two Liberal Democrat councillors, one Labour councillor, and one Henley Residents' Group councillor, five non-group members, and two vacancies.

There are two political groups for South Oxfordshire District Council: the Conservative Group, currently comprising 25 members, and the Opposition Forum Group, currently comprising 4 members. The leader of the Conservative Group is Councillor Jane Murphy. The leader of the Opposition Forum Group is Councillor David Turner. At Annual Council, councillors are allocated to committees and panels which, in order to ensure political balance (this only aplies to certain committees and panels), are weighted according to the membership of these political groups.

Each Councillor represents a ward in South Oxfordshire.

Local Councillors decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent the public interest as well as individuals living within the ward they represent.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Your Councillor may hold local surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. Information on allowances can be found in the documents library. All members of the Council sign a code of conduct and are required to complete a declaration of interest form.

To find councillor, please look on this page or use the links below.

If you are not sure which ward you live in you can use the search option below to find information about council services in the area and the name of your local councillor. Search by postcode or town/village.

Councillor
Councillor Role Political party Ward

Anna Badcock

11 High Street, Watlington, OX49 5PZ

Home mobile: 07733 111 554

Work: anna.badcock@southoxon.gov.uk

Cabinet member for legal and democratic Conservative Watlington

Charles Bailey

Tile House, Shepherds Green, Rotherfield Greys, Henley-on-Thames, RG9 4QW

Home mobile: 07920000969

Work: charles.bailey@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Woodcote and Rotherfield

Joan Bland

2 New Street, Henley on Thames, RG9 2BT

Work: 01491 577363

Home: 01491 571978

Home mobile: 07894 336342

Home: joan.bland@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Henley-on-Thames

Felix Bloomfield

The Views, Ewelme, Wallingford, OX10 6HF

Home: 01491 832690

Work: felix.bloomfield@southoxon.gov.uk

Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet member for planning Conservative Benson and Crowmarsh

Kevin Bulmer

35 Springhill Road, Goring, Reading, RG8 0DA

Home mobile: 07803 005680

Work: kevin.bulmer@southoxon.gov.uk

Cabinet member for corporate services Conservative Goring

Nigel Champken-Woods

27 Ludsden Grove, Thame, OX9 3BY

Home: 01844 215629

Work: nigel.champken-woods@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Thame

Steve Connel

3 Cam Close, Didcot, OX11 7XE

Home mobile: 07540 432461

Work: steve.connel@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Didcot North East

Sue Cooper

1 Lower End, Benson Road, Ewelme, Wallingford, OX10 6HB

Home: 01491 835631

Home: sue.cooper@southoxon.gov.uk

Member of the Opposition Forum Group Liberal Democrats Benson and Crowmarsh

John Cotton

12 Balfour Cottages, Abingdon Road, Burcot, Abingdon, OX14 3DR

Home: 01865 408105

Home mobile: 07796 951968

Work: john.cotton@southoxon.gov.uk

  Non-Group Berinsfield

Pat Dawe

Springfield, 42a Wallingford Road, Cholsey, Wallingford, OX10 9LB

Home: 01491 651994

Work: pat.dawe@southoxon.gov.uk

Home: pat.dawe@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Cholsey

Anthony Dearlove

43 Crossville Crescent, Didcot, OX11 7HE

Home: 01235 818665

Home mobile: 07989 149344

Work: anthony.dearlove@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Didcot South

David Dodds

3 Gadge Close, Thame, OX9 2BD

Home: 01844 212891

Work: david.dodds@southoxon.gov.uk

Cabinet member for finance Conservative Thame

Stefan Gawrysiak

Pantiles, Elizabeth Road, Henley-on-Thames, RG9 1RA

Work: stefan.gawrysiak@southoxon.gov.uk

Member of the Opposition Forum Group Henley Residents' Group Henley-on-Thames

Elizabeth Gillespie

Wickets, Marsh Baldon, Oxford, OX44 9LL

Home: 01865 341398

Home mobile: 07813 100993

Work: elizabeth.gillespie@southoxon.gov.uk

Home: elizabethgillespie@uk2.net

  Conservative Garsington and Horspath

Will Hall

55 New Street, Henley on Thames, Oxon, RG9 2BP

Home mobile: 07793031780

Work: will.hall@southoxon.gov.uk

Home: wahhall@gmail.com

  Conservative Sonning Common

Tony Harbour

c/o South Oxfordshire District Council, 135 Eastern Avenue, Milton Park, Milton, OX14 4SB

Home mobile: 07771 594368

Home: Tony.Harbour@southoxon.gov.uk

  Non-Group Didcot North East

Paul Harrison

SAS UK, Wittington House, Henley Road, Marlow, SL7 2EB

Home: 0118 9722665

Home mobile: 07733 266376

Work: paul.harrison@southoxon.gov.uk

Cabinet member for development and regeneration Conservative Sonning Common

Lorraine Hillier

The Swedish House, 8 Park Corner, Henley on Thames, RG9 6DT

Home mobile: 07818 451367

Work: lorraine.hillier@southoxon.gov.uk

Chairman of the Council Conservative Henley-on-Thames

Elaine Hornsby

Rebanks, Burcot, Abingdon, OX14 3DN

Work: elaine.hornsby@southoxon.gov.uk

  Non-Group Wallingford

Mocky Khan

53 Hagbourne Road, Didcot, OX11 8DT

Home mobile: 07956301777

Work: mocky.khan@southoxon.gov.uk

Home: mocky.khan@southoxon.gov.uk

Member of the Opposition Forum Group Labour Didcot South

Sue Lawson

The Pump House, Heyford Hill Lane, Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford, OX4 4YJ

Home mobile: 07899 963236

Work: sue.lawson@southoxon.gov.uk

  Non-Group Sandford and the Wittenhams

Lynn Lloyd

Cromwell Cottage, 50 High Street, Chinnor, OX39 4DH

Home: 01844 354313

Work: lynn.lloyd@southoxon.gov.uk

Cabinet member for community services Conservative Chinnor

Imran Lokhon

56 Roding Way, Ladygrove Estate, Didcot, OX11 7RQ

Home mobile: 07921 705400

Work: imran.lokhon@southoxon.gov.uk

  Non-Group Wallingford

Jeannette Matelot

1 Hazelton House, 15 High Street, Thame, OX9 2BZ

Home: 01844 213004

Work: jeannette.matelot@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Thame

Jane Murphy

Corner Cottage, High Street, South Moreton, Didcot, OX11 9AD

Home mobile: 07970 932054

Work: jane.murphy@southoxon.gov.uk; leader@southoxon.gov.uk

Leader of the Council and Cabinet member for communications Conservative Cholsey

Toby Newman

121 Old Road, Wheatley, Oxford, OX33 1NX

Home: 01865 872239

Work: toby.newman@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Wheatley

Caroline Newton

Coopers Farmhouse, Britwell Salome, Watlington, OX49 5JZ

Home mobile: 07951 477144

Work: caroline.newton@southoxon.gov.uk

Cabinet member for housing and environment Conservative Haseley Brook

David Nimmo-Smith

Flat 1, 245 Woodstock Road, Oxford, OX2 7AD

Home mobile: 07496 491990

Work: david.nimmo-smith@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Woodcote and Rotherfield

Bill Service

15 Nunney Brook, Didcot, OX11 7FW

Home: 01235 510810

Work: bill.service@southoxon.gov.uk

Cabinet member for partnership and insight Conservative Didcot North East

Ian Snowdon

6 North Bush Furlong, Didcot, OX11 9DY

Home: 07899888587

Work: ian.snowdon@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Didcot West

Alan Thompson

3 Cronshaw Close, Didcot, OX11 7JT

Home mobile: 07905165418.

Work: alan.thompson@southoxon.gov.uk

Vice-Chairman of the Council Conservative Didcot West

David Turner

50 Hardings, Chalgrove, Oxford, OX44 7TJ

Home: 01865 891169

Work: david.turner@southoxon.gov.uk

Chairman of the Opposition Forum Group Liberal Democrats Chalgrove

Vacant position for Didcot South ward

  Vacancies Didcot South

Vacancy for Kidmore End and Whitchurch ward

  Vacancies Kidmore End and Whitchurch

John Walsh

Royal Oak House, Beckley, Oxford, OX3 9TY

Home mobile: 07860 786470

Work: john.walsh@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Forest Hill and Holton

Ian White

4 Willow Road, Chinnor, OX39 4RA

Home: 01844 352085

Work: ian.white@southoxon.gov.uk

  Conservative Chinnor