Joint Staff Committee


HELD at 2.30 pm on Thursday 12 October 2023


Meeting Room 1, Abbey House, Abbey Close, Abingdon, OX14 3JE



Neil Fawcett, Maggie Filipova-Rivers, David Rouane, Andrea Powell,

Anne-Marie Simpson, Neil Fawcett, Andy Foulsham, Viral Patel and Bethia Thomas



Kate Gregory and Sue Caul tendered apologies.


Officers: Steven Corrigan, Democratic Services Manager and Adrianna Partridge, Deputy Chief Executive – Transformation and Operations




1            Election of chair


Councillor Filipova-Rivers was elected Chair of the committee for the 2023/24 municipal year.




2            Election of vice-chair


Councillor Patel was elected Vice-Chair of the committee for the 2023/24 municipal year.




3            Apologies for absence


Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Caul and Gregory.




4            Declarations of interest






5            Minutes of previous meeting


RESOLVED: to adopt and sign as a correct record the minutes of the committee’s meeting held on 29 September 2022.







6            Exclusion of the public


RESOLVED: to exclude members of the press and public from the meeting for the following item of business under Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended on the grounds that:

(i)      it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1, Schedule 12A of the Act, and

(ii)     the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information. 




7            Performance and development review of the chief executive

(Exempt minute see page 3)


The committee considered the performance and development review of Mark Stone, Chief Executive that had been undertaken by the Leaders of South Oxfordshire and Vale of White Horse district councils.  The committee reviewed and supported the performance review form completed by the chief executive and the Leaders, which included the objectives for the next 12 months set by the Leaders, noting that some may be adjusted through the year to reflect the national and local context.






The meeting closed at 3:50pm






Chair                                                                                     Date