Your Councillors by Party

There are 36 councillors directing the work of the Council, elected by the voters of South Oxfordshire. Our elections are held every four years.

There is no overall control of the council by a single political group. There are currently 12 Liberal Democrat councillors, 10 Conservative councillors, five Green Party councillors, three Labour councillors, three Henley Residents' Group councillors, and three independent councillors.

The leader of the council and the chairman of the council will be appointed at the Annual Council Meeting on 16 May 2019. At Annual Council, councillors are allocated to committees and panels which, in order to ensure political balance (this only aplies to certain committees and panels), are weighted according to the membership of these political groups.

Each Councillor represents a ward in South Oxfordshire.

Local Councillors decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent the public interest as well as individuals living within the ward they represent.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Your Councillor may hold local surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. Information on allowances can be found in the documents library. All members of the Council sign a code of conduct and are required to complete a declaration of interest form.

To find councillor, please look on this page or use the links below.

If you are not sure which ward you live in you can use the search option below to find information about council services in the area and the name of your local councillor. Search by postcode or town/village.

Councillor by Party
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Pieter-Paul Barker

Pieter-Paul Barker

Cabinet member for partnership and insight

Work: Pieter-Paul.Barker@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Thame
photo of David Bretherton

David Bretherton

Chair of the Council

33 Towersey Drive, Thame, Oxon, OX9 3NR

Home: 01844 215178

Work: David.Bretherton@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Thame
photo of Sue Cooper

Sue Cooper

Leader of the Council, Cabinet member for legal and democratic and Didcot Garden Town

1 Lower End, Benson Road, Ewelme, Wallingford, OX10 6HB

Home: 01491 835631

Work: sue.cooper@southoxon.gov.uk

Home: sue.cooper@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Benson and Crowmarsh
photo of Maggie Filipova-Rivers

Maggie Filipova-Rivers

Cabinet member for community services

Work: Maggie.Filipova-Rivers@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Goring
photo of Sarah Gray

Sarah Gray

2a Gateley, Horspath, Oxford, OX33 1TH

Work: Sarah.Gray@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Forest Hill and Holton
photo of Kate Gregory

Kate Gregory

Work: Kate.Gregory@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Thame
photo of Victoria Haval

Victoria Haval

Work: Victoria.Haval@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Didcot North East
photo of Alexandrine Kantor

Alexandrine Kantor

Work: Alexandrine.Kantor@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Wheatley
photo of George Levy

George Levy

111 Brook Street, Benson, Oxon, OX10 6LJ

Work: George.Levy@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Wallingford
photo of David Rouane

David Rouane

Cabinet member for housing and environment

Work: David.Rouane@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Didcot North East
photo of Anne-Marie Simpson

Anne-Marie Simpson

Mallards, Moulsford, Wallingford, OX10 9HR

Home: 01491 651298

Home mobile: 07770 781233

Work: Anne-Marie.Simpson@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Cholsey
photo of David Turner

David Turner

Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet member for finance

50 Hardings, Chalgrove, Oxford, OX44 7TJ

Home: 01865 891169

Home mobile: 07770 682182

Work: david.turner@southoxon.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Chalgrove
photo of Anna Badcock

Anna Badcock

11 High Street, Watlington, Oxon, OX49 5PZ

Home mobile: 07733 111 554

Work: anna.badcock@southoxon.gov.uk

Conservative Watlington
photo of David Bartholomew

David Bartholomew

C/O South Oxfordshire District Council, 135 Eastern Avenue, Milton Park, Milton, OX14 4SB

Home mobile: 07769 808773

Work: David.Bartholomew@southoxon.gov.uk

Conservative Sonning Common
photo of Elizabeth Gillespie

Elizabeth Gillespie

Vice-Chair of the Council

Wickets, Marsh Baldon, Oxford, OX44 9LL

Home: 01865 341398

Home mobile: 07813 100993

Work: elizabeth.gillespie@southoxon.gov.uk

Home: elizabethgillespie@uk2.net

Conservative Garsington and Horspath
photo of Lorraine Hillier

Lorraine Hillier

The Swedish House, 8 Park Corner, Nettlebed, Henley on Thames, RG9 6DT

Home mobile: 07818 451367

Work: lorraine.hillier@southoxon.gov.uk

Conservative Woodcote and Rotherfield
photo of Lynn Lloyd

Lynn Lloyd

Cromwell Cottage, 50 High Street, Chinnor, OX39 4DH

Home: 01844 354313

Work: lynn.lloyd@southoxon.gov.uk

Conservative Chinnor
photo of Jane Murphy

Jane Murphy

Corner Cottage, High Street, South Moreton, Didcot, OX11 9AD

Home mobile: 07970 932054

Work: jane.murphy@southoxon.gov.uk; leader@southoxon.gov.uk

Conservative Cholsey
photo of Caroline Newton

Caroline Newton

Coopers Farmhouse, Britwell Salome, Watlington, OX49 5JZ

Home mobile: 07951 477144

Work: caroline.newton@southoxon.gov.uk

Conservative Haseley Brook
photo of Ian Snowdon

Ian Snowdon

6 North Bush Furlong, Didcot, Oxon, OX11 9DY

Home: 07899888587

Work: ian.snowdon@southoxon.gov.uk

Conservative Didcot West
photo of Alan Thompson

Alan Thompson

3 Cronshaw Close, Didcot, Oxon, OX11 7JT

Home mobile: 07905165418

Work: alan.thompson@southoxon.gov.uk

Conservative Didcot West
photo of Ian White

Ian White

4 Willow Road, Chinnor, OX39 4RA

Home: 01844 352085

Work: ian.white@southoxon.gov.uk

Conservative Chinnor
photo of Robin Bennett

Robin Bennett

Cabinet member for economic development and regeneration

Work: Robin.Bennett@southoxon.gov.uk

Green Berinsfield
photo of Sam Casey-Rerhaye

Sam Casey-Rerhaye

Work: Sam.Casey-Rerhaye@southoxon.gov.uk

Green Sandford and the Wittenhams
photo of Andrea Powell

Andrea Powell

Cabinet member for corporate services

Work: Andrea.Powell@southoxon.gov.uk

Green Benson and Crowmarsh
photo of Jo Robb

Jo Robb

Work: Jo.Robb@southoxon.gov.uk

Green Woodcote and Rotherfield
photo of Sue Roberts

Sue Roberts

Cabinet member for climate and ecological response, and support for the leader

Work: Sue.Roberts@southoxon.gov.uk

Green Wallingford
photo of Ken Arlett

Ken Arlett

Work: Ken.Arlett@southoxon.gov.uk

Henley Residents' Group Henley-on-Thames
photo of Stefan Gawrysiak

Stefan Gawrysiak

Pantiles, Elizabeth Road, Henley-on-Thames, RG9 1RA

Work: stefan.gawrysiak@southoxon.gov.uk

Henley Residents' Group Henley-on-Thames
photo of Kellie Hinton

Kellie Hinton

7 Queen street, Henley, Oxon, RG9 1AR

Home mobile: 07527826706

Work: Kellie.Hinton@southoxon.gov.uk

Henley Residents' Group Henley-on-Thames
photo of Peter Dragonetti

Peter Dragonetti

Covert Cottage, Hill Bottom, Whitchurch Hill, Reading, RG8 7PT

Home: 0118 9844711

Home mobile: 07866 202908

Work: Peter.Dragonetti@southoxon.gov.uk

Independent Kidmore End and Whitchurch
photo of Simon Hewerdine

Simon Hewerdine

Work: Simon.Hewerdine@southoxon.gov.uk

Independent Didcot North East
photo of Leigh Rawlins

Leigh Rawlins

Cabinet member for planning

The Hoot,, 6 Woodlands Road,, Sonning Common, RG4 9T

Home: 01189 722565

Work: Leigh.Rawlins@southoxon.gov.uk

Independent Sonning Common
photo of Mocky Khan

Mocky Khan

53 Hagbourne Road, Didcot, OX11 8DT

Home mobile: 07956301777

Work: mocky.khan@southoxon.gov.uk

Home: mocky.khan@southoxon.gov.uk

Labour Didcot South
photo of Axel Macdonald

Axel Macdonald

Work: Axel.Macdonald@southoxon.gov.uk

Labour Didcot South
photo of Celia Wilson

Celia Wilson

Work: Celia.Wilson@southoxon.gov.uk

Labour Didcot South